51MJV+69xfL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

The Mortal Word is part of Genevieve Cogman’s witty and wonderful Invisible Library series, which can be enjoyed as part of a sequence or as standalones.

A corrupt countess. A spy in danger. And an assassin at large.

Peace talks are always tricky . . . especially when a key diplomat gets stabbed. This murder rudely interrupts a top-secret summit between the warring dragons and Fae, so Librarian-spy Irene is summoned to investigate. In a version of 1890s Paris, Irene and her detective friend Vale must track down the killer – before either the peace negotiations or the city go up in flames.

Accusations fly thick and fast. Irene soon finds herself in the seedy depths of the Parisian underworld on the trail of a notoriously warlike Fae, the Blood Countess. However, the evidence against the Countess is circumstantial. Could the assassin – or assassins – be closer than anyone suspects?

The Mortal Word is perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes.

My review

With huge thanks to Jamie-Lee from Pan Macmillan for providing a copy of this amazing book for me to review.

Of course being an avid reader any story with a Librarian spy must be good! I certainly wasn’t wrong!

The story is one of a series which I have yet to read, however I didn’t feel at any point that I had missed past history, that affected what I was reading. The characters are really engaging, Irene the Librarian Spy was amazing throughout, her dedication to her role within the library and her friendships with the Dragons and Fae were one to admire.

The story is fast paced from the beginning, with Irene attending to a retrieval of a book from a different world, that she must return to the main library, her love for danger is clear from start to finish, she has absolute no fear!

Within the story you learn more about Irene and her parents, that have unfortunately become part of the peace treaty, that is being attempted between the Dragons and the Fae. The past history between these two has not been a pleasant one, so more than now! With the murder of a very important diplomat Irene and Vale her detective friend have been employed to solve this mystery, before the Dragons and Fae come to blows again!

The descriptions of the scenery and the clothing worn makes this story engaging and brings the characters and places to life.

With everyone fighting against each other, no one wishes to admit where they might be wrong, blaming each other for various problems, who can Irene trust!? With a twist of fate Irene becomes in contact with the well known Fae – the Blood Countess! She is one gruesome although fascinating character, she loves blood and gore, she has no shame in admitting her ‘fun’ however, is she connected with the murder that has occurred, what role does she play!?

My favourite parts of all, were when Irene uses the Librarian words – like magic, to do various things; to protect, to find out the truth and to get her out of deep trouble!

As Irene is placed with one of each member of the peace treaty, she isn’t pleased when she finds out who, as she has some past history with one of them and worries this may cloud her investigation, I quite enjoyed the hidden passion between these characters!

With the answers becoming clear, Irene has to take charge and make her evidence clear to see, with or without upsetting one or two characters, that she feels may affect her own friendships.

Her bond with one of the Dragons – Kai, is warmly met, you can see they have a fondness for each other from the beginning, however as the story continues, I started to wonder if it would in the end.

The finale is gripping, creating the beginning of the end of war between the Dragons and Fae.

I would definitely recommend this book, thrilling from the beginning with the ending open, to enjoy more from Irene and The Invisible Library! The next book in this series is The Secret Chapter, I feel I will need to find out more about what Irene gets up to, maybe more from the beginning!

You can purchase it here from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “The Mortal Word by Genevieve Cogman @GenevieveCogman @JamiedoesPR @panmacmillan #review #FaeAndDragons #Librarian #TheMortalWord #TheInvisibleLibrary

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s