Implant
Gardener and Reilly Crime Series #3

Bramfield, near Leeds, a sleepy little market town nestled on the borders of West and North Yorkshire. Detectives Stewart Gardener and Sean Reilly discover the naked corpse of Alex Wilson, nailed to the wall of a cellar in his uncle’s hardware store. His lips are sewn together and his body bears only one mark, a fresh scar near his abdomen.

Within forty-eight hours, their investigation results in dead ends, more victims, no suspects and very little in the way of solid evidence. Gardener and Reilly have a problem and a question on their hands: are the residents of Bramfield prepared for one of history’s most sadistic killers, The Tooth Fairy?

Implant is the perfect read for fans of Peter May, Mark Billingham and Peter James.

Implant - Ray Clark

My Review

With thanks to Love Books Group Tours, I was offered to read and review this fascinating book. The synopsis sounded gripping, I enjoy reading murder mystery books with some graphic detail, so this one intrigued me.

Not long into the story there was the first murder and gruesome it was! The victim had been nailed to a wall, lips sewn together and a fresh scar on his abdomen! The call comes in from a mystery person, who contacts one of the police officers to tell them a message, about how much time they have. The police officer has no idea at the time what this call is about, a few minutes later a call comes into the station, to say a local hardware store looks as though its been broken into. This is where the story starts, there are twists and turns all the way throughout, wanting you to read more, finding out who is connected and why.

There are a lot of characters within this story and sometimes you need to have a clear head to keep up, however every person in this story has a part to play. From the very beginning you get to know about PC Gary Close, who has a terminally ill mum and has recently had an operation himself; due to a sporting accident. Sargent Maurice Cragg is also a very esteemed character, with a sad family story of his own. The two main police characters are: Detective Sargent Sean Reilly and Detective Inspector Stewart Gardener. This story and two others are a part of the Gardener and Reilly Crime Series. Throughout this story previous jobs that the detectives have investigated are mentioned, this for me, has intrigued me to find out about the other two books, as they also seemed gruesome and interesting reads!

As the story continues there are more cleverly designed gruesome murders, with mysteries to follow each one, the way the murders were compiled were fascinating and made me wince as I read on. As the detectives investigate they are struggling to compile any solid evidence, its not clear how people are going to being murdered or why.

I really enjoyed how the story flowed; you are taken through police procedures and how the police team worked together, to use their own research to solve the mystery. I particularly loved how Detective Reilly enjoyed his food, at every stage if he has a chance to munch on biscuits, he does! The banter between the two detectives was also evident, showing the confidence and supportive relationship between them.

The downward slope to resolving the murders was like a snowball, you got to know who was involved and why, how they finally chased down the murderer, then you find out the logic behind why the murders took place.

The reasons were actually very sad and you could actually appreciate why this person (the murderer), went to such lengths to make them suffer!

At the very end of the story you find out a bit more behind one of the characters, it was very emotional and I felt very sorry for that character. Quite a surprising and final end to this very gruesome and shocking story!

I definitely recommend this book and I would love to read Imperfection!

About the Author

The British Fantasy Society published Ray Clark’s first work in 1995 – Manitou Man: The World of Graham Masterton, was nominated for both the World and British Fantasy Awards. In 2009, Ray’s short story, Promises To Keep, made the final shortlist for the best short story award from The Tom Howard Foundation. Ray is based in Goole, and has set his Gardener and Reilly crime series in nearby Leeds.

Ray Clark Author Image

 

 

 

Implant

 

 

 

 

Social Media links:

Website: http://www.thelordofmisrule.net/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/T1LOM

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s